Threshold Standards

The Higher Education Standards Framework (HES Framework) Threshold Standards sets the standards that a provider must meet and continue to meet to be registered to operate as a higher education provider in Australia. The Threshold Standards underpin and provide assurance of quality and integrity in the delivery of Australian higher education. The national higher education regulator, the Tertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency (TEQSA), uses the Threshold Standards to regulate higher education providers and courses (DE, 2021).

TEQSA assesses all the applications for registration as a Higher Education Provider (HEP) under the HES framework. The new standards came into effect on 1 July 2021. Further amendments to Threshold Standards were made on 1 December 2021 to include a definition of Academic Freedom and update three standards (TEQSA, 2021).

The Higher Education Standards Framework (the Framework) is established by section 58 of the TEQSA Act. The provider categories listed (Section 5) are:

  • Institute of Higher Education
  • University College
  • Australian University, and
  • Overseas University

View: Higher Education Standards Framework (Threshold Standards) 2021

TEQSA’s detailed explanation of the standards, including a summary of changes;

TEQSA – HESF Domains

To enrol international students, a provider must register as a CRICOS provider and demonstrate that it complies with the requirements of the National Code 2018.